• Send News
  • Posts
  • Jesse Vitelli's Newsletter Chaos #3

Jesse Vitelli's Newsletter Chaos #3

Send News

Another week down

Feels weird that this is already the third newsletter. I often feel like not a lot happens during the week but then when it’s time to sit down to write these I realize that I literally never stop doing things. It was a very busy and productive week, which is good! Being busy on this capitalist treadmill is totally fine and healthy and normal.

There’s a lot of H2’s in this one, because a lot of very different parts of my life are firing on all cylinders and I need a way for my tiny brain to put them into neat little boxes.

Always working never working

Being on the freelance grind means I always have to be moving and making my next set of plans before even finishing the first set. I’m still at GamesRadar for the month, so keep your eyes peeled for news and whatever else they might let me write in the future.

I didn’t have any other work go up this week, but have a few other projects going on you’ll hear more about in the future.

Weddings

One of my best friends is getting married next weekend. I feel like I’ve been to 100 weddings this year already, but that’s this point in life I guess. I’m ready to drink at an open bar, dance to some music, and see my friends. I’m sure I’ll have a few good stories to share next week after it ends.

Notes app

I actually don’t have any quotes from myself this week that I felt needed to be written down, however this has reached the point where some of my friends want to be included in the newsletter with quotes of their own, so I’ll share one this week.

Beyblades are like Dreidel 2

Michael Higham

Please do whatever you want with that information.

Bad sleep

I have this recurring thing where i go to bed and then suddenly get bursts of energy. I feel like I could fist fight god in the street shirtless at 2am, but then when i wake up I’m exhausted and don’t want to do anything. Maybe I should find a 24 hour gym and just become the random guy who deadlifts at 3 in the morning. It could be a fun new personality trait that surely no one would ever get sick of.

Astro Bot

Everyone in the games world is talking about Astro Bot, and rightfully so. That game is one of the most charming and playful games I’ve ever experienced. I sat in my room like a gremlin and devoured it in 2 days collecting everything.

I think there’s a larger conversation to be had about how PlayStation treats it’s legacy characters. How it doesn’t foster new players curiosities but instead is interested in catering to an aging player base. The way games and hardware like Vibribbon and the PlayStation EyeToy are just stuck in the past feels bad. Games preservation has always been a huge problem in an industry focused on rapid growth, willingly discarding anything it doesn’t need in the here and now, without building out the tracks so the discarded cargo can catch up later.

There’s a lot of really good writing on these topics that I couldn’t get out of my head after finishing it. You can check them out below.

Of course, outside of the actual good critic that’s going on around Astro Bot, I think the more important topic is which Astro bot I would eat. The obvious answer is the Parappa Bot, because that Orange hat is so vibrant and colorful. I need to eat the Parappa Astro Bot

Also I would eat Chop Chop Master Onion, and here’s the proof.

PowerPoint presentations

I recently had one of those Powerpoint presentation parties where everyone brings a presentation to give on silly topics. It’s a lot of fun, but I had trouble coming up with a topic, so I let the internet create one for me. I tweeted out a link to an open edit Google Slides and let everyone make the presentation. I’ve linked it below because it’s so damn funny and more people need to see what happened.

A new shirt

Is there a better feeling than getting a new piece of clothing that just fits well, is sick as hell, and you were able to support and independent artist in the process? Anyway I got a Chappell Roan shirt that I love.

Bands with funny names

Sometimes you just come across a very funny band name and need to write it down. Here’s a new band I found last week, that are actually pretty good too!

Ok it’s probably time to end this one

I’ve kept you here long enough. Support each other, have fun out there, tell your friends to sign up for this so I can take over the world. I’ll leave y’all with one new piece of internet I learned about this week. Reminder every Monday at 12pm est you’ll get a new on of these.